Avoiding a Fight

While strolling through the Far Point Media forums, I ran across a user whose signature said “Obama. Because I want a smart president this time.”  My brain immediately responded, but I haven’t allowed that response to leave the confines of my skull.  I don’t want to make a political comment in a thread about bookshelf organization.  I think adding my own signature with the retort would be a tad juvenile, and that’d leech into my posts elsewhere on the forums.

I almost PM’d the person, but, to what end?  I’m pretty sure that, no matter how polite my introduction, the smarmy response would likely be remembered as my true first impression.  I don’t know this person, and I’m not going to change his mind, so why bother?

Well, I have a condition.  Once a really good line (even a mostly passable line) or an argument (randomly generated or caused by an earlier conversation) spawns inside my head, I won’t sleep till I let it loose in some fashion.  My wife’s asleep.  The one friend I have who might be interested seems to be avoiding my calls.  Thus, I inflict this blog post on the intertubes, and the one random hit I get every couple of days.  (I make no guesses about whether it’s a spambot or a real person.  A hit’s a hit, right?)

Anyway, back to the point, so that I can go to bed.  “Obama.  Because I want a smart president this time?”  How about “Obama.  Because the 57 states need 10 years of hope.”

Edit:  Just thought of a potentially better line.  “Obama.  If I can’t have substance, at least give me style.”

Published in: on August 18, 2008 at 12:25 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stingray02.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/avoiding-a-fight/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

