Joe Biden? Really?

Seriously?  Obama picked Joe Biden as his veep?  I’ve been pondering this decision since I heard about it, and I’m honestly surprised.  I figured the candidate for change, the candidate who’s all about not following politics as usual would have chosen someone a little less… usual.  I mean, I saw a picture of the two together and all I could think was, “Look, another old white guy running for office.  What a shock.”

It seems to me that the best thing McCain could do is pick a VP that’s either female or a minority.  Better yet, both.  I know Condie has said that she doesn’t want to run for office, but I would think that you’d be able to defuse a lot of the racial and gender tensions with a choice like her.

I figure I should take a quick moment to note my… strategy(?) with this blog.  I don’t really care about this election.  It’s been going on so long, I can’t quite remember when I started getting sick of it.  I don’t like either candidate, and I won’t be voting for either candidate.  I’ll vote, but it’ll definitely be for a third party candidate.

I pick on Obama because all I ever hear is praise and adoration.  The McCain supporters I know tend to have the feeling that, “Eh, he’s not what I want, but he’s close enough.”  The Obama supporters, on the other hand, tend to be downright fanatical.  I hear off the wall comments and conversations bordering on worship, and I feel like I have to step in and remind people, even if I’m just talking to myself, that he’s just another politician.  If ever anyone in power, say the leader of one of the houses of Congress, says that McCain is a “gift from god,” I’ll do my best to take him down a notch or three, as well.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stingray02.wordpress.com/2008/08/26/joe-biden-really/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

